Scientific Advisory Board

  1. Home
  2. Company
  3. Scientific Advisory Board

Scientific Advisory Board

Prof. Matthias Löhr, MD

Scientific Advisory Board (Speaker)

Matthias is Professor of Gastroenterology & Hepatology. He studied Medicine in Würzburg, Hamburg, Loma Linda, Chicago and Basel (1980-86). After his MD thesis and internship in pathology, he completed a postdoc with Dr. M.B.A. Oldstone at ...

... Scripps Clinic & Research Foundation, La Jolla, CA. In 1989, Matthias began his residency in Internal Medicine at the University of Erlangen, Bavaria. In 1993, he became chief resident at the Dept. of Medicine, University of Rostock, where he also completed his training in gastroenterology. His habilitation was on pancreatic cancer (1996).

In 2000, Matthias became professor of Molecular Gastroenterology at the University of Heidelberg, Mannheim Medical Faculty, and in 2003, he was appointed Head of the Division of Molecular Gastroenterology at the German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ). He was part of the steering group that established the National Center for Tumor Diseases (NCT) in Heidelberg and program director for the German GI society oncology program (DGVS) 2004-2007. In 2007, he became Professor of gastroenterology and hepatology at Karolinska Institute, Sweden.

Matthias’ in-depth experience focuses on pancreatic diseases, ranging from chronic autoimmune pancreatitis to pancreatic cancer and cystic tumors. He is a member of a large consortium; whose goal is to identify novel genetic markers in (chronic) pancreatitis. Matthias also leads the Swedish surveillance program for patients with familiar pancreatic cancer. He has held several positions as a Principal Investigator (PI) on early-phase clinical trials in pancreatic cancer (CT-PCA-1; EndoTAG-1; AXP-001), and is currently a principal investigator on a study of personalized cancer medicine in pancreatic cancer (PePaCaKa) using NGS and evidence-based software. Matthias has an extensive track record in medical and scientific publications and represents the United European Gastroenterology (UEG) in Brussels, where he participates in several activities, e.g. the Biomed Alliance and the Multi-stakeholder Platform for Pancreatic Cancer.

Prof. Gheona Altarescu, MD

Scientific Advisory Board

Gheona obtained her magna cum laude diploma in Medicine at the Jassy University of Medicine and Pharmacy, Romania. She performed her training in medical genetics at the National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, USA during the years 1997 to 2000 under ...

... the supervision of Dr. Roscoe Brady.

During this time Gheona treated more than 100 patients with different lysosomal storage diseases: Gaucher disease type I, II and III, Fabry disease, Mucolipidosis type IV, Hunter and Hurler disease, and performed basic molecular research in the field of lysosomal storage disorders. She is board certified in clinical and molecular genetics.

Upon returning to Israel, Gheona established the Preimplantation Genetic Diagnosis Clinic and Lysosomal diseases Clinic at the Shaare Zedek Medical Center in Jerusalem. The clinic is the largest of its kind in Israel and performs preimplantation genetic diagnosis for more than 300 different genetic disorders including lysosomal storage diseases, resulting in the birth of 400 healthy children since 2005. She has been involved in clinical trials for different drugs both for Gaucher type I and Fabry disease.

Gheona has an extensive track record in medical and scientific publications, focusing on the field of lysosomal diseases and preimplantation genetic diagnosis. She is currently Associate Professor of Genetics at Hebrew University Hadassah Medical School, Jerusalem and the Director of the Preimplantation Genetic Unit and Lysosomal diseases Clinic at Shaare Zedek Medical Center, Jerusalem.

Prof. Markus M. Lerch, MD FRCP

Scientific Advisory Board

Markus is a Professor of medicine at the University of Greifswald, and Chairman of the Department of Medicine A at the University Hospital. He majored in Philosophy and Art History at the University of Freiburg before attending ...

... Medical School in Freiburg, Glasgow, Toronto and at the University of Massachusetts.

Markus received his MD (magna cum laude) from Freiburg in 1984 for experimental studies on the pathophysiology of the exocrine pancreas. After a Pathology Internship in Freiburg, he completed a residency in Internal Medicine at the Technical University of Aachen. On a Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) research scholarship, he spent three years at Harvard and the University of Milano, Italy, where he was trained in pathophysiology and cell biology.

After a GI fellowship in Ulm, and his board certification in Gastroenterology (1993), Markus obtained a second doctorate (Habilitation, PhD equivalent) in 1994 for work on the cell biology of pancreatitis from the University of Ulm. He then moved to the Max-Planck-Institut for Biochemistry in Munich to join the Molecular Biology Department of Axel Ullrich as a staff scientist and was board certified in Biochemistry. After serving as an assistant professor and consultant gastroenterologist in Homburg (Saar), and as tenured associate professor at the University of Münster (1997-2003), he accepted a professorship at the University of Greifswald (founded in 1456), where he was appointed chairman of the Department of Medicine A in 2007.

The research of his group focused on the pathophysiology, cell biology and genetics of pancreatic disorders. His research has been supported by the European Union (EU-FP7, EU-EFRE), the DFG (German Research Council), the BMBF (German Federal Ministry of Science and Education) and the Deutsche Krebshilfe/Mildred Scheel Stiftung (German Cancer Aid) as well as several foundations and charities.

The implementation of this bench-to-bedside strategy found its way into three investigations, which initiated clinical trials (e.g. ISRCTN 00142233 & ISRCTN 46556454) and facilitated several patent applications and patents (e.g. EP06776693.1, EP10164624, EP11167708), particularly in the area of biomarker development. Markus is an elected Study Section member (Grants Committee of the German Research Council DFG) since 2008 and was appointed by President of the Federal Republic to serve on the ‘Council of Science and Humanities (Wissenschaftsrat) of the German government in 2015.